Online NRL Betting for New Zealanders

With a range of NRL markets at online bookmakers, worrying about missing out on rugby betting action is the last thing punters in New Zealand need to do. Using their computers, they can bet on pre-season games, premiership and representative season games, the finals series, and the Grand Final.

Many of the available markets allow for futures and live betting, as well as match bets and tournament outright and prop or exotic bets. Betting gathers momentum as the season progresses, but, to take advantage of great odds, many punters who want to bet on the winners of the Grand Final place their wagers fairly early in the season.

Of the teams in the league, only one calls New Zealand home. The rest are all based in that other great rugby-loving country, Australia.

Types of NRL Bets

While the NRL Grand Final attracts the most bets, the premiership and representative seasons are definitely not ignored by Kiwi punters. With almost 500 match bets per season, the action is plentiful.

The vast majority of punters in New Zealand bet on teams to win either specific matches or the Grand Final, and many also throw in a few prop bets. Punters could bet on players to score to score the first try, correct total scores, whether or not a game will go into extra time, and more at the best NRL betting sites.

In order to place bets at online bookmakers, it is necessary for punters to sign up and create an account into which they can deposit NZ$. It is then simply a matter of logging in whenever they want to place their bets, which they can do by selecting the NFL market and choosing bets from the available options.

Teams in the NRL

The one Kiwi team in the NRL is the New Zealand Warriors. Established in 1995, the team is based at Auckland’s Mount Smart Stadium.

The Australian teams that make up the bulk of the league are the Brisbane Broncos, Canberra Raiders, Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks, Gold Coast Titans, Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, Melbourne Storm, Newcastle Knights, North Queensland Cowboys, Parramatta Eels, Penrith Panthers, South Sydney Rabbitohs, St George Illawarra Dragons, Sydney Roosters, and Wests Tigers.

During the season, each team plays every other team at home and away. The sporting and betting action tends to be dramatic from the very start, as these teams are nothing less than the best in New Zealand and Aussie rugby.

NRL Season from Start to Finals

Punters and sports fans alike wait for NRL season, which usually begins in early March. However, pre-season games are played in February, which gives teams and New Zealander punters a chance to warm up with evens such as the Charity Shield and the Foundation Cup.

The premiership season runs for 26 weeks, with games played on Friday, Saturday, and Monday evenings, as well as on Sunday afternoons. There are also special events and themed weeks during the season, the Ron Coote, Jack Gibson, and Mal Reilly cups, and the Rivalry and Woman in League rounds among them.

During the representative season, NRL players are selected for participation in rugby tournaments and games such as the Prime Minister’s XIII Match, the Anzac Test, the State of Origin Series, the Pacific Tests, and test matches between New Zealand and Australia.

In the finals series, the top-ranking eight teams from the premiership series play against each other until the last two teams left in the competition face each other in early October’s Grand Final, one of the major highlights on the online NRL betting calendar.